American Medical Student Association Announces New Board of Trustees

August 13, 2017

Media Contact:
Pete Thomson, Chief Communications Officer
American Medical Student Association
Phone:  (703) 665-4786
Email: pr@amsa.org

Sterling, VA –March 1, 2017: The American Medical Student Association (AMSA) announced the newly elected 2017 – 2018 Board of Trustees during AMSA’s Annual Convention and Exposition in Washington, D.C. at the end of February.

On May 1, 2017, Joey Johnson, a current fourth-year osteopathic medical student at Lincoln Memorial University’s DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine, will begin serving as AMSA National President for the 2017 – 2018 year. Johnson will work full time at AMSA’s national office in Sterling, Virginia where he will represent more than 40,000 physicians-in-training, engage with chapters across the country and continue driving AMSA’s mission to advocate for the improvement of health care and health care delivery to all people.

AMSA congratulates the following newly elected Board of Trustee 2017 – 2018 members.

Perry Tsai was voted in as President Elect for the 2017 – 2018 year. Tsai will be completing his final year in the MD/PhD program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine.  He has previously held positions as AMSA’s Vice President for Leadership Development, Vice President for Program Development, Gender and Sexuality Chair and Coordinator and Sexual Health Scholars Program Co-Director.

Isaiah Cochran will continue serving as Vice President for Membership. Cochran will be a third-year medical student at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine. He served in this same role for 2016 – 2017 and has held positions as Global Health Chair, Premedical Trustee and Premedical Regional Director.

Neil Vallabh will be serving as the Vice President for Internal Affairs. Vallabh is currently enrolled in an accelerated BS/MD program at Kent State University and Northeast Ohio Medical University. He previously held positions as National Secretary, Regional Director and Global Health Policy Coordinator.

Pratishtha Chhabra will be serving as Secretary/Vice President for Internal Affairs. She will be a second-year osteopathic medical student at the Lincoln Memorial University Debusk College of Osteopathic Medicine. This will be Chhabra’s first National leadership role within the AMSA organization.

Gregory Ziomek will be serving as Vice President for Program Development. Ziomek will be a fourth-year medical student at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine. He has previously held positions as AMSA Regional Director, Medical Education Chair, Scholars Program Liaison Coordinator, Cultural Sensitivity Scholars Program Coordinator and Health Equity Week of Action Steering Committee Chair.

Sam Foldy will be serving as Vice President for Leadership Development. Foldy will be a fourth-year osteopathic medical student at the Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine. He has previously served as AMSA Medical Regional Director.

Yokaira Camilo will be serving as International Trustee. Camilo will be a fourth-year medical student at the Universidad Iberoamericana School of Medicine. She previously served as International Regional Director and is the 2017 winner of the James Slayton Award for Leadership Excellence.

Bilal Khokhar will be continuing to serve as Premedical Trustee. Khokhar is a rising senior at Arizona State University.

The American Medical Student Association is excited to see the work this new Board of Trustees will put into driving AMSA’s mission over the 2017 – 2018 year.


About AMSA:

AMSA is the oldest and largest independent association of physicians-in-training in the United States. Founded in 1950, AMSA is a student-governed, non-profit organization committed to representing the concerns of physicians-in-training. To learn more about AMSA, our strategic priorities, or joining the organization, please visit us online at http://www.amsa.org.