Paul R. Wright Chapter Success Award

Recognizing Outstanding Chapters.

Congratulations to our 2014 Winners:

Meharry Medical College SOM
Marshall University Joan C Edwards SOM
University of California, San Diego
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Universidad Iberoamericana SOM
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland - Bahrain

PRW Award 2009

Named after AMSA Executive Director Emeritus Paul R Wright, this annual honor is awarded to chapters that have promoted AMSA’s mission of of inspiring future physicians though local events, innovative programing, leadership development or calls to action. Additionally, the emphasis of this award is chapter commitment to improving member solidarity by increasing awareness, recruitment, and involvement in their chapters.

Nominees will be evaluated on the quality/creativity of programs at the local level and their growth throughout the year. To properly reflect the diversity of AMSA chapters, this year’s award will have multiple chapter recipients including awarding small and large; premedical, medical and international chapters.

We hope you will join us at AMSA’s National Convention in Washington, DC, February 26 - March 1, 2015 as we announce the winner/s of this award.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Any AMSA premedical, medical or international chartered chapter.

Nomination & Selection Process

  • Nominations close in November 2014 (exact date TBA). 
  • Any AMSA premedical, medical or international chartered chapter may self-nominate through the online nominations form. 
  • Six chapters will be selected: 2 medical chapters (small and large); 2 premedical chapters (small and large); and, 2 international chapters (small and large). 

Presentation & Award

  • Awards will be presented at the 2015 AMSA National Convention in Washington, DC.
  • Each large chapter award recipient will receive four (4) complimentary registrations to the AMSA National Convention.
  • Each small chapter award recipient will receive two (2) complimentary registrations to the AMSA National Convention. 
  • Award recipients will be highlighted in The New Physician (TNP) as well as on AMSA’s website and Facebook page.


2013 Winners

Congratulations to our 2013 Chapter Success / PRW Award winners!

  • Medical: East TN State University Quillen COM (ETSU), University of Connecticut (UCON), & Mayo SOM
  • International: Universidad Autonoma de Guadalajara
  • Premedical: University of Houston-Downtown, University of Puerto Rico - Rio Piedras