8th Annual Women Leaders in Medicine Awards

The deadline has now passed.

Women Leaders in Medicine Award

The Women Leaders in Medicine (WLIM) awards were created by AMSA in 2007 to recognize women physicians and educators who are changing the face of medicine through their lives, their professions, or their teaching. These women deserve recognition for their accomplishments and dedication to fostering tomorrow’s women leaders in medicine.

Medical and premedical students are encouraged to fill out the online nominations form and tell us about an inspiring woman who has influenced the student's medical career. They could be professors that you’ve had or they could be women who you have never met but have impacted your careers through their amazing work.

Many of our past awardees have considered their Women Leaders in Medicine award a truly meaningful honor because it comes directly from the voices of students. At AMSA, we hope to give back some recognition to these amazing women in addition to generating awareness about the importance of fostering leadership in medicine that promotes healthy change and equality in care and professional opportunity for all physicians-in-training.

We hope you will join us at AMSA’s National Convention in Washington, DC, February 26 - March 1, 2015 as we announce the winner/s of this award.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Any woman physician and/or educator who is changing the face of medicine through their lives, their professions or their teaching.

Nomination & Selection Process

  • Nominations close in November 30, 2014.
  • Any AMSA medical or pre-medical student members can submit nominations.
  • You may nominate more than one woman physician and/or educator.
  • The selection committee will be comprised of members from the Action Committee on Gender and Sexuality, the National President, and AMSA Staff.

Presentation & Award

  • Awards will be presented at the 2015 AMSA National Convention during a special reception on Thursday, February 26, 2015.
  • Award recipients will be recognized at the reception and presented with an elegant glass trophy.
  • Award recipients will receive a complimentary registration to the AMSA National Convention.
  • Award recipients will receive a complimentary one-night hotel stay at the Convention hotel. 
  • Award recipients will be highlighted in The New Physician (TNP) as well as on AMSA’s website and Facebook page.


Past Award Recipients

2013 Women Leaders in Medicine Award Recipients

  • Katherine Chretien, MD
  • Carolyn Clancy, MD
  • Petra Clark-Dufner, MA
  • Sophie Currier, MD, PhD
  • Laura Tosi, MD

2011 Women Leaders in Medicine Award Recipients

  • Gloria Bachmann, MD, UMDNJ-RWJ
  • Margaret Bia, MD, Yale Univ
  • Jane H. Brice MD, MPH, Univ of NC
  • Sandra Moutsios, MD, Vanderbilt
  • Marcella Nunez-Smith, MD, MHS, Yale Univ
  • Lynne Richardson, MD, Mount Sinai
  • Grace Rozycki, MD, Emory Univ
  • Susan Wood, PhD, Past Asst. Commissioner for Women’s Health & FDA Director of the Office of Women’s Health

Award Recipient, Dr. Jane Brice