AMSA Convention 2016 Logo

Past AMSA Presidents

Thank you to all our past presidents, who dedicated years of AMSA local and national leadership before taking a year off to devote themselves full time to the mission and objectives of the organization!

2014-2015      Britani Kessler, DO, Nova Southeastern Univ COM
2013-2014      Nida Degesys, MD, Northeast Ohio Medical University
2012-2013      Elizabeth Wiley, MD, JD, MPH, George Washington University
2011-2012      Danielle Salovich, MD, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
2010-2011      John Brockman, Case Western Reserve University
2009-2010      Lauren S. Hughes, MD, MPH, Univ. of Iowa College of Medicine
2008-2009      Brian Hurley, MD, MBA, Keck School of Medicine
2007-2008      Michael Ehlert, MD, Case Western Reserve Univ.
2006-2007      Jay Bhatt, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
2005-2006      Leana Wen, Washington University SOM
2004-2005      Brian Palmer, MD, MS, MPH, Mayo Medical School
2003-2004      Lauren Oshman, MD, MPH, Baylor College of Medicine
2002-2003      Eric Hodgson, MD, University of Maryland SOM
2001-2002      Jaya Agrawal, MD, Brown University
2000-2001      Sindhu Srinivas, MD, UMDNJ New Jersey Med School, Newark
1999-2000      David Grande, MD, Ohio State Univ.
1998-1999      Brad Deal, MD, Medical Univ. of South Carolina
1997-1998      Kavita Patel, MD, Univ. of Texas - San Antonio
1996-1997      Andrew Nowalk, PhD, Univ. of Pittsburgh
1995-1996      Lydia Vaias, MD, Temple Univ.
1994-1995      Terrence Steyer, MD, Case Western Reserve
1993-1994      David V. Evans, MD, Univ. of Pittsburgh
1992-1993      Elizabeth Morrison, MD, Brown Univ.
1991-1992      Eric E. Whitaker, MD, MPH, U. of Chicago-Pritzker
1990-1991      Brad Snyder, MD, Washington Univ.
1989-1990      Jim Slayton, MD, Stanford Univ.
1988-1989      Cindy Osman, MD, Brown Univ.
1987-1988      P. Preston Reynolds, MD, PhD, Duke Univ.
1986-1987      Jeffrey Stolz, MD, MPH, UNC-Chapel Hill
1985-1986      Helen Burstin, MD, SUNY-Syracuse
1984-1985      William J. Kassler, MD, MPH, MSEd Univ. of Massachusetts
1983-1984      Valerie E. Stone, MD, MPH, Yale Univ.
1982-1983      Patrick S. Romano, MD, MPH, Georgetown Univ.
1981-1982      Kathleen Jennison Goonan, MD, Univ. of California @ Davis
1980-1981      Rocio A. Huet, MD, Univ. of Michigan
1979-1980      Charlie Clements, MD, Univ. of Washington
1978-1979      Jack Rutledge, MD, Duke Univ.
1977-1978      Douglas Campos-Outcalt, MD, Univ. of Arizona
1976-1977      Kevin Fickenscher, MD, Univ. of North Dakota
1975-1976      Laurel Cappa, MD, MPH, Case Western Reserve
1974-1975      James Ted Norris, MD, PhD, UTMB-Galveston
1973-1974      Russell W. H. Kridel, MD, Univ. of Cincinnati
1972-1973      George M. Blatti, MD, Univ. of Minnesota
1971-1972      Bruce G. Fagel, MD, JD, Univ. of Illinois
1970-1971      Charles E. Payton, MD, UC - San Francisco
1969-1970      Edward D. Martin, MD, Univ. of Kansas
1968-1969      Charles Clement Lucas, Jr., MD, Univ. of NC @ Chapel Hill
1967-1968      David A. Kindig, MD, PhD, Univ. of Chicago
1966-1967      Blair R. Behringer, MD, Univ. of Missouri
1965-1966      James P. Moss, MD, Univ. of Louisville
1964-1965      John W. Packer, MD, Bowman Gray
1963-1964      Robert O. Voy, MD, Univ. of Oregon
1962-1963      James A. Brooks, MD, Univ. of Oregon
1961-1962      William B. Weglicki, Jr., MD, Univ. of Maryland
1960-1961      William B. Waddel, MD, Duke Univ.
1959-1960      William R. Kirkham, MD, Univ. of Oklahoma
1958-1959      E. Carwile LeRoy, MD, Univ. of North Carolina
1957-1958      Robert E. Rakel, MD, Univ. of Cincinnati
1956-1957      J. Kent Guild, MD, Northwestern Univ.
1955-1956      John A. Belt, MD, Univ. of Oregon
1954-1955      John A. Oates, Jr., MD, Bowman Gray
1953-1954      John H. Caskey, MD, Baylor
1952-1953      David Buchanan, MD, Univ. of S. Dakota School of Med Sciences
1950-1952      Warren R. Mullen, MD, Univ. of Michigan

Consider Donating Today

AMSA needs your support in our on-going quest to inspire a community of future physicians through education and advocacy.

Give now to the AMSA Foundation

AMSA Executive Directors

We'd also like to give a shout out to our executive directors who have, through the years and behind the scenes, kept our organization running smoothly and moving forward!

  • 2014- Joshua Caulfiel, IOM
  • 2008-12 Carol Williams-Nickelson, PsyD
  • 2007-08 Paul R. Wright
  • 2006-07 John B. Cudahy
  • 1978-06 Paul R. Wright
  • 1976-77 Louis Gianacola, MPH
  • 1968-75 Charles C. Hewitt, JD
  • 1950-67 Russell F. Staudacher

Become a Leader

Looking to make a difference? Consider becoming a National Leader for AMSA, the leader in medical student and healthcare initiatives.

Visit AMSA's Blog

AMSA On Call - The Official Blog of the American Medical Student Association 

Let AMSA help you to succeed by answering questions, providing tools to make your life easier, inspiring discussion and debate on the hottest healthcare issues, and connecting you with peers from across the globe.

Current Campaigns

AMSA actively focuses on campaigns throughout the year that align with our organization's aspirations, mission and values.